Faith and Beliefs

Standard

My son is in the church making his first confession and a new pope just got elected. I’m sitting in my chair and wondering about all this. So much has changed in my life over the past few years that has influenced my faith and beliefs.
I believe we are all part of a God/Higher-Power, or whatever name you want to call the “life behind life” (Brandon Bays). And we are connected to this energy through love. People like Thich Nhat Hahn (Nobel peace prize winning Buddhist monk, author of many books of poetry and mindful living) continue to influence and inspire me. Many years of meditation and attempting to live in the present moment have kept me going and, I would even say, have kept me alive over the past few years!!
Others who influence and inspire me wouldn’t be the Pope or many of the priests that I have heard. It’s a rare treat to go to mass and hear somebody speaking to the heart and feeling like you really are ‘present’ to something wholly beautiful. Most of the time it’s sanctimonious pomposity from the altar which leaves me cold. So I choose not to go.
Around the time my Dad died (nearly 14 years ago now) we knew an inspired Redemptorist priest who celebrated the Eucharist with every breath he took. The experience of the union taking place on the altar between mind and heart was pure poetry. Another close friend, a Dominican, has also really helped me especially two years ago when I was going through a particularly difficult time. My limbs were ceasing to work and I was terrified. He came and talked to me and Jonnie. I found a great sense of peace talking and praying with him. And said to Jonnie ‘he really is a man of God ‘

I will leave you now with a quote I love:
“the miracle is not to walk on water, the miracle is to walk on this earth”
(Thich Nhat Hahn)

7 responses »

  1. That is such a beautiful quote from Thich Nhat Hahn- I truly love it. I also love what you said about being ” connected to this energy through love”
    I am drawn to spirituality,but like you it has to be authentic (whether in person or in print). The priests that you wrote about sound energizing, inspiring and also deeply calming.
    Many are not, and It seems especially disheartening when a person who has dedicated their life to a religion is dull, disconnected or even worse,lacks genuine kindness and compassion.
    I agree with you , the miracle is now, walking here on this earth with each other and all the other daily miracles big and small that make up our life . My parents never brought us to church but have been the greatest teachers of what I consider true religion : Kindness, loving each other and appreciation and enjoyment of life !
    Thank you for another eloquent post , you always energize and inspire me!
    Much love,
    Nick xxxxoooxx

  2. Here’ s a qoute from the Dalai Lama-
    When I first read this it made me think of my mothers’s philosophy/ religion..
    “There is no need for temples, no need for complicated philosophies. My brain and my heart are my temples; my philosophy is kindness”

  3. Hi Emma.

    Guess who? It’s Martin, I have been following you ever since Mum put me in touch with you online.
    I have been working in Dubai ever since July 2011, just coming up to 2 years now. Anyway, love your piece today. I am just in from my early morning meeting, sitting in a room of my fellow men and women Trudging The Road of Happy Destiny and I could,nt be happier. Dad is never to far away from my thoughts on a daily basics. I have often said the I am very fortunate to have two sponsors, one here, and Chris my sponsor, hereafter. This is just a quick Hello, love to all. Martin.

  4. Morning Star,
    This piece, to me, is a work of art in how it is written. It is so beautiful to read ( I always read more than once !) . Like a beautiful painting or photo …. You’ve just got to go back for more! You know we never stop getting to know one another …. Though I have always looked up to my big sister (!) one would think we know eachother so well, being sisters ‘n’ all but you….. You just keep getting better & better & more interesting sharing & expressing so much in this wonderful blog ( sorry Nicky! I know you don’t like the B word!! ). Can’t wait for the hols Star!
    Bon weekend!
    Bisous,
    Dol xoxoxoxo

  5. Hi Emma.

    So true and spoken from the heart. I think true goodness is how we choose to live our lifes and not what God we choose to follow. I feel sometimes some of these religions ( catholic anyway) are among the richest and most powerful business in the world. However i doubt if any of them will go bust. I could go on for ever but wont ! True wonderment is around us in our gardens, children, family ,friends etc……

    Hoping that you are keeping well 😉
    Loved the music clip ,keep sending them .

    Thinking of you Cal x

Leave a Reply

