Autumnal Stuff

Standard

We have a lovely new Spanish aupair called Ana. She arrived the evening the previous one left. Immediately she walked into our home I liked her. Barely in the door and she was singing traditional tango and playing guitar for me and Jonnie! What a treasure! I’ve been feeling that we’ve struck gold.
Other good news: we applied for more hours to the HSE and got some of them. This means I don’t have to worry as much about Jonnie having so much to do at the weekend as we now have some more help. When he said he felt a bit more relaxed last Saturday evening it was music to my ears.
The CRC gave me a brand new eye-gaze computer. It’s the most recent model. When I found out I was getting it I was over the moon. I imagined being able to read books and doing early Christmas shopping online. But to not beat around the autumnal bush, it’s basically a bigger version of the previous one! Not to sound ungracious though as I can’t imagine how hellish life would be without one, I’m just disappointed. They have told me of a separate reading thingy that can be programmed in, which is happening over the coming weeks. I’d like to imagine the ability to read with the kids too. I can log on from this but the icons are painfully small and it’s so slooooooow!
Rowan is growing into such a caring little boy, well, with me especially (different scenario with the sibling!). He always kisses me whenever he gets home from anywhere and gives an extra little squeeze which makes me so happy I’m here in this given shape. What more could a mother want but to see an outpour of affection from any child. He is aware too if I need a tissue for my mouth or if my hands are uncomfortable. Both Kitty and Rowan are fantastic when there’s no ‘adults’ around, I’m well looked after, bless them.
Thank God that it’s finally getting colder! It’s been freakily mild. I’m dying to light fires and cosy up. My sister’s due back from France for a few months this winter so I’m looking forward to that too.
To finish, looking up a favourite Bill Withers song recently on youtube I was laughing to myself. After all these years listening to him I never realised he was black! Such a sign of pre youtube times. I remember purchasing one of his albums and not having a clue what he looked like! It’s all in the voice with Bill, the sex appeal, the everything. Miley Cyrus eat your heart out!

6 responses »

  1. Hi Emma,
    So wonderful to hear so much good news. Very pleased you have some extra help… fabulous that Jonnie already felt a difference!
    I love the sound of Aria.. adding even more music to your lives.. and what a perfect name she has,old Dad,(Norman), would have loved that!
    So beautiful that Rowan is so loving and affectionate.. I agree, that’s heaven! You have such wonderful children.. all the love and nurturing that you and Jonnie give them is so evident.
    I was so excited when I read the first few lines about the new eyegaze.. then ..oh dear..but of course, still thank God that you have a functioning one! I hope that reading thing is easy to use.. that could be wonderful! Book clubs, discussions..hey, why am i thinking ahead.. just to be able to read a book that interests you during a quiet time in the day.. such a pleasure!
    Sending My Love to you and all the family oxoxoxoxoxooxox
    Nick oxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxooxox

  2. oh dear old age is catching up with me..I re-read your post and I see your new aupair is called Ana not Aria! Better start wearing the reading glasses all the time.. Ana or Aria.. both beautiful names 🙂
    X

  3. Good morrrring !
    Just waking up to Bill ! He is magic! Even more so now looking at him!! It takes me back to growing up along side you and hearing your great taste in music floating through the house!!! How funny you never knew what he looked like! Now THAT is love!!!
    Great to read all your good news! Bring on evenings by the fire listening to Bill!!!
    TOGETHER :-)))))) xxxxxxxxx

  4. Hi Emma, a bit delayed but just logged on to see your new post, so good to read. Things sound like they are a bit better, and I am so glad to hear you have a lovely new au pair! I agree on this time of year too bring on those cosy autumnal evenings! I have been speaking to Lucy about her coming back soon and trying to share a few good recipes as she is looking forward to getting cooking for you all. I was telling her that my friend had been to Piemonte to the truffle festival and has been cooking lots of truffle laced meals for me, so delicious, I was thinking how much you would enjoy that too (assuming you like truffle?!) I assume you love all Italian fare! as do I!

    Great to hear how sweet and caring Rowan is being, that’s so lovely, I can imagine the scene with you and the kids looking after you, but very frustrating to hear that your eyegaze is still running so slowly! It’s such amazing technology, you would have thought they could get it to run a lot faster! Am going to click on the Bill Withers tune now, and have a singalong and think of you!
    Lots of love to you all,
    Rach XXXX

  5. Hi Em, really enjoyable reading there girl! I don’t know how you do it. There are so many people who don’t see the wonder & beauty around them. Yet there you are celebrating every little miracle around you – your children are one of those little ‘miracles’! Rowan is such a pet but how could he be any different with the gene pool he’s coming from (lucky boy)? And Kitty too of course 🙂 There isn’t one unkind bone in your body Emma. I’m sure they’re blessed with your sense of fun too. Jonni is an exceptional husband and person. I’m delighted to hear about Ana (au pairs with that name have been a blessing for you – if I remover right?) Bummer about your slow eye gaze, it is so frustrating – I can’t cope with slow computers at all! Ray reckons I did a great service to the world of IT when I left the workforce because I was always giving out about ‘slow’ computers. Lovely to read your blog as always Em. Love to Lucy. Big hugs. Swiss xxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

